Warrior wins Sea Safety Trophy

By Gerry Byrne. Calm conditions on Saturday resulted in the cancellation of the Mourne and Hellyhunter Trophy races which would have taken the cruiser fleet from Carlingford Lough to Kilkeel and back. However, on the previous Saturday, conditions were perfect for the new Newry Maritime Association sponsored Sea Safety Trophy. The races ran in conjunction with the remembrance commemoration of the 65th anniversary of the O’Hare family drowning tragedy on Carlingford Lough in June 1954.
In glorious sunshine and steady south easterly winds, three triangular starboard courses were called by Race Officer Philip O’Connor. With line honours in all three races, Tim Gibbons won the event with Brian McCann’s Gannet second and Proud Mary third skippered by Brian McConville. It was fitting that Tim Gibbons should win the inaugural trophy as his father Stephen tragically lost his life on the lough on 23-Nov-86 in a boating accident. The beautiful Sea Safety Trophy highlights safety on the water and as a perpetual trophy it will be competed for every year in June.  CLYC would like to thank Newry Maritime Association for the sponsorship of this beautiful trophy.
Presentations of all trophy races competed for so far this season will take place at a barbeque at CLYC Clubhouse next Saturday 6th June. The cruiser programme now moves into the Mid Season Series.

Philip O’Conor at the helm of his family-crewed Hanse Off

The Newry Maritime Association sponsored Sea Safety Trophy

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.