Mary can be Proud!   Recently updated !

The cruiser racing has been active throughout August even though fleet numbers were reduced due to holidays. The Pat Dunbar Cup was won by Mick McCann’s Invincible with wins in Race 1 & 3. In the CLYC Open Regatta the beautiful Claire McCann Trophy was won by Warrior skippered by Tim Gibbons who drove his crew hard to win four of the six races over […]


By Gerry Byrne.  Brian O’Sullivan’s Trapper 400 won the Woodhouse Trophy in an eventful afternoon’s racing with a second in the first race and a win in the second race. The Carlingford Sailing Club sailor had a well deserved win over some of the more competitive boats in the fleet. On Saturday, Tim Gibbon’s Warrior took her third title this year by winning the John Donnelly […]

Warrior wins Sea Safety Trophy

By Gerry Byrne. Calm conditions on Saturday resulted in the cancellation of the Mourne and Hellyhunter Trophy races which would have taken the cruiser fleet from Carlingford Lough to Kilkeel and back. However, on the previous Saturday, conditions were perfect for the new Newry Maritime Association sponsored Sea Safety Trophy. The races ran in conjunction with the remembrance commemoration of the 65th anniversary of the […]

The Pearl is back!   Recently updated !

By Gerry Byrne. The Oyster Pearl Regatta has always been regarded as the blue ribbon event in the Carlingford Lough cruiser racing calendar. In its heyday in the 80’s and 90’s, fleets of over sixty boats from the east coast and the Isle of Man sailing clubs came to compete for the coveted Oyster Pearl Trophy in what was then a two day event organised […]