Warrenpoint Regatta 2022

by Gerry Byrne

On Saturday last, Warrenpoint Regatta took place on Carlingford Lough in glorious sunshine with a steady sea breeze. Cruisers competed in three races over a triangular course set by OD, Tim Gibbons. With wins in races 1 and 2, it was Supersonic, skippered by Thomas Kearney which pipped Warrior to win the coveted Whistledown Trophy. Tom Teggart’s Perseverance, won the Echo 908 Class.

Following the regatta, event sponsor Colum Mc Avoy presented trophies to the winners at the Whistledown Hotel Warrenpoint. On behalf of the cruiser fleet, Gerry Byrne thanked Colum for his sponsorship of the event since 2007.

The final open event of the cruiser programme is the two-day CLYC Cruiser Regatta which takes place on Sept 24th & 25th.


Whistedown Trophy (CPH Class)

1st       Supersonic      Thomas Kearney (CLYC).  7 points

2nd      Warrior      Tim Gibbons (CLYC).  7 points

3rd       Piglet       Brian McConville (CLYC).  10 points

(Echo908 Class)

1st       Perseverance    Tom Teggart (CSC).  6 points

2nd      Supersonic     Thomas Kearney (CLYC).  7 points

3rd       Piglet     Brian McConville (CLYC).  7 points

The fleet getting off to a good start at the Woodhouse

Thomas Kearney and crew being presented with the Whistledown Trophy by Colum McAvoy (left) of the Whistledown Hotel.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.